Are students and teachers turning into ghosts?

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/apr/16/culture-overwork-teachers-children-ghosts-schools

I discovered this article via the year 7 teacher at the school I work at.  I love the first paragraph which states. If schools slowed down and focused on a deeper kind of flourishing, they might be more productive.

The reason why I like that statement is that I feel that the learning content and curriculum is rushing students to learn and grasp concepts even if they understand them or not. As a teacher aide I am witnessing students having to learn certain subjects in the curriculum at a fast rate whether they understand the content or not. 

It seems that teachers aren’t allowed to go back to basics any more especially for those students that are having trouble.  In the article it also makes a suggestion that the students and teachers are becoming ghosts due to the amount of excessive hours they have to put in. I feel this is the case for teachers due to the concerns they would have if they got behind with the curriculum and would not be able to catch up.

I also feel that the focus in schools is purely data and crunching numbers. I understand that schools mainly function on funding but I feel that this has overshadowed the true meaning of teaching children and has taken the fun out of teaching and learning.

One thought on “Are students and teachers turning into ghosts?

  1. Pingback: Are students and teachers turning into ghosts? | mjbeer

Leave a Reply

